Centenary Cup Swinford v Ballaghaderreen

Centenary Cup
Centenary Cup

Swinford defeated Ballaghaderreen tonight (Sat) in round 3 of the Centenary Cup to put them top of the group with Ballaghaderreen and Kiltimagh.

In a very good performance Swinford started the game well with a free from Liam Moran after the referee spotted foul play close to goal. Liam followed this up with a point from play before Ballaghaderreen got their opening score with a goal after ten minutes.

Swinford struck back with two frees from Liam Moran which put them in a lead that they never gave up. A wonderful ball from Michael Walsh cut the defence open to Darren Campbell who buried in the net to put Swinford ahead by 4. Ballagahderreen came back with three points and they will be kicking themselves with a number of wides.

Before the break Jason McLoughlin scored two points to put Swinford head by three as we thought. The referee corrected teh score to put it Swinford 1-6 Ballaghaderreen 1-4.

Five minutes into the second half Jason Mcloughlin shot low and hard into the net, followed up by a Liam Moran free put Swinford ahead by 6. Ballaghaderreen pulled one back before Swinford lost Michael Walsh to injury.

Another point from Jason McLoughlin kept it at 6 midway through the half. Ballaghaderren scored a point from play and then two free from frees to leave a goal between the teams entering the last two minutes.

On the 60th minute Liam Moran got a great point from play to give Swinford a bit of comfort as Ballaghaderreen came down the field and hit the back of the net.

Swinford held out in injury time to record a one point win and their 4th win in a row, taking in Centenary Cup, League and Championship. Winning is a great feeling.

Swinford: Aaron Kinsella, Sean Prendergast, Sean Brady, Alan McLoughlin, Conor Conway, Mark Forkan, James Lavin, Michael Walsh, Kevin Doyle, Fergal Harte, Michael Prendergast, Liam Moran, Jason McLoughlin, Tom Horkan, Darren Campbell. Subs James Sweeney, Aiden McLoughlin, James McNicholas

Scorers; Liam Moran 0-6, Jason McLoughlin 1-3, Darren Campbell 1-0

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.