Michael Walsh Intermediate League R2 Swinford v The Neale


For a game that started very slowly there sure was a grand stand finish to round 2 of the Michael Walsh Intermediate League.

It took ten minutes and a few chances for both teams before The Neale took the lead. A Liam Moran free leveled the game before the visitors scored two from frees.

A fantastic goal from Liam Moran gave Swinford the lead for the only time in the game. The goal was a piece of individual brillance by Liam.

The Neale drew level and then retook the lead before Liam Moran leveled the game with a free. An error in the Swinford defence allowed The Neale in for a goal and they added another point before the break to leave it Swinford 1-2 The Neale 1-6.

Swinford started the second half with great urgency and rattled off three points. A punt in by Kevin McShea was fisted on by Darren Campbell and came back off the cross bar and put over by Jason McLoughlin. Jason soon added a second after a ball in from Mark McNicholas. Mark Forkan added the third to leave one between the teams.

This resurgence was soon ended as The Neale scored the next three points to go back four ahead. Kevin McShea pulled one back which was cancelled out by a Neale free midway through the half.

Swinford were not finished and points from Gordon Carter, Johnny Burke and Liam Moran (F) brought the game back to the bare minimum with just under ten minutes left. The Neale put two between the team and it looked like Swinford could not find their way back into the game.

Liam Moran got his fourth point from a free to set up a grand stand finish. On the mark of 30 minutes Gordon Carter leveled the game with a beauty from well out the field.

Shortly after John Finn blew the full time whistle and both teams will probably be happy with a point.

Swinford: Gavin Moore, Jonathan Moore, Paul McDonagh, Conor Conway, Mark McNicholas, Kevin Barry, James Lavin, Johnny Burke, Mark Forkan, Liam Moran, Kevin McShea, Joshua Smith, Gordon Carter, Darren Campbell Subs Aiden McLoughlin, Sean Brady, Caoimghin McLoughlin

Scorers: Liam Moran 1-4, Jason McLoughlin, Gordon Carter 0-2, Mark Forkan, Kevin McShea, Johnny Burke 0-1

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.