Senior League Div 4 Westport v Swinford match report


It was a lovely midday in Westport as we contested our second league game of the season.

Minutes silence
Minutes silence

We got off to a good start with early points from James Devaney and Mark Forkan. Westport pulled one point back before Liam Moran got our third from a free. The kick out was won by Mark Forkan who fed James Devaney for his second of the game. Michael Prendergast added a fifth and after ten minutes we led by 0-2 to 0-5.

Westport v Swinford
Westport v Swinford

Westport got the next two scores to bring it back to 2 before Liam Moran kicked a fine point from play. The next ten minutes Westport took control and added three points to level the game with two minutes left in the half. Darren Campbell kicked two points before the interval to give is a two point lead 0-6 to 0-8.

Both teams started off the second half with wides before Michael Walsh and Michael Prendergast doubled our lead. Westport pulled one back before we took control of the game.

Two frees each from the boots of Liam Moran and Jason McLoughlin had us leading by double scores with seven minutes left. Complete dominance around the field had put us in that position.

The game was put beyond doubt by two scores from Darren Campbell, first he found the net and soon followed up with his third point. James Devaney added his third of the game before Westport added a point with the last kick of the game.

It finished a comprehensive win for Swinford by 0-8 to 1-16. The good start to the season has continued and we go into a home game against Ballina next weekend and an away trip to Tourmakeady the evening of the 12th May.

The work rate in the second half was exceptional, no westport player was allowed time to settle on the ball and this pressure resulted in huge turnovers. Our forwards then caused all sorts of trouble leading to frees and socres.

I know the official match report is Westport 0-9 Swinford 1-16 but I must have missed a Westport score……

Swinford: Aaron Kinsella, Alan McLoughlin, Sean Brady, James Lavin, Conor Conway, Mark Forkan, Joshua Smith, Michael Walsh, Johnny Burke, Darren Campbell, Michael Prendergast, Liam Moran, Jason McLoughlin, James Sweeney, James Devaney. Subs Aiden McLoughlin


Scorers: Darren Campbell 1-3, Liam Moran 0-4, James Devaney 0-3, Michael Prendergast, Jason McLoughlin 0-2, Mark Forkan, Michael Walsh 0-1

Thanks to Kevin Quinn for the pictures

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.