Intermediate Championship: Swinford v Tourmakeady

Cl4M0qcWIAAVNuB.jpg large

Swinford squeaked out a win over Tourmakeady in the second round of the Egan Jewellers Intermediate Championship at Sunday lunchtime.

Only three weeks since we defeated our visitors by 13 points in the league we beat them by 1-8 to 0-8 but Tourmakeady will look back on their thirteen wides and think of what could have been.

An early Liam Moran free opened the scoring but then Tourmakeady took complete control of the game and inbetween scoring three points had nine wides. We got our second point after twenty five minutes from Kevin McShea and James Devaney had us level a minute later.

Then came the turning point of the game on the strike of half time with goal from Darren Campbell. After been under the cush for most of the half we went into the dressing room leading by a goal.

Both teams swapped scores throughout the second half, within a minute of the restart Tourmakeady pulled a point back and this was then ruled out by one from Johnny Burke. Tourmakeady again made it a two point before two scores from substitute Jack McDonnell stretched our lead to four. Again Tourmakeady pulled one back before a very brave point by James Devaney kept two scores between the teams with about five minutes left.

The visitors then got the following two scores before substitute Daragh McIntyre got the last score of the game. We then endured a very nervous finish to the game and a mad scramble in our own goal mouth before the ball was kicked clear and the final whistle came.

With Kiltimagh defeating Bohola Moy Davitts in the other group game it means a winner takes all game with Moy Davitts in a few weeks time.

Swinford: Sean Kavanagh, Jason Carney, Joe Kelly, Alan McLoughlin, Kevin Doyle, Mark Forkan, James Lavin, Fergal Harte, Barry Brennan, Darren Campbell, Kevin McDonagh, Liam Moran, Johnny Burke, Kevin McShea, James Devaney Subs: Gerry Callaghan, Jack McDonnell, Darragh McIntyre, Sean Brady

Scorers: Darren Campbell 1-0, James Devaney, Jack McDonnell 0-2, Liam Moran, Kevin McShea, Johnny Burke, DarraghMcIntyre 0-1


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.